Top New Country Music Releases This Week – 17/06/2019

Here are some of our top new releases for the week of 17/06/2019…

All of this week’s new tracks are also on our New Release Round-up playlist on Spotify, along with every other song we’ve included in this feature during the year so far. The playlist is at the bottom of the page – if you’re a Spotify user, give it a follow!

Aaron Watson – Ghost Of Guy Clark

Everything you need to know about Watson’s music in 3 minutes. A manifesto in the form of a conversation with the ghost of the legendary Texas writer and performer. The opening track from Watson’s superb new album Red Bandana, released today. You can read our review of Red Bandana here.


Tyler Childers – All Your’n

There’s a real 70’s west coast singer-songwriter sound to this ballad, Tyler’s second release ahead of his new album Country Squire. Hammond organ, piano stabs and wah-wah guitar backing up that Childers distinctive vocal. 


Whiskey Myers – Rolling Stone

With a 14 track album not due to drop until September, Whiskey Myers can afford to drop tracks in consecutive weeks. Where the title track Die Rockin was a hard rocking thumper, new track  Rolling Stone is a different affair. Take Cody Cannon’s vocal out and it could be a Neil Young road song, with a rhythm like an 18 wheeler on a long stretch, but this guys rambling days are over – ” There ain’t nothing left for me out on these highways that I roam, If all I’m doing just leaving, you’re crying alone, I’m coming home”.


Ashley McBryde – Tired Of Being Happy (Live From Nashville)

Terrific live recording of this fan favourite, recorded at Marathon Music Works in Nashville. I could say more – but just play it.

Jon Pardi – Ain’t Always The Cowboy

A breakup song told from the other side, with Pardi as the titular cowboy on the hard end of goodbye. “I’ve never seen over from this side. Never heard lonely get this quiet”. All country, but still room for a rock guitar solo. Looking good for new album Heartache Medication, due out in September.


Eli Young Band – Break It In

After almost 20 years together Eli Young Band still feel that they’re learning and growing in their craft, and that’s the spirit of this new track. Like a brand new baseball glove or a newly strung guitar, sometimes things have to get a little worn to really hit their peak. It’s a great, solid, EYB song.


Brett Young – Catch (The Acoustic Sessions)

A classic slice of Brett Young, with a co-write credit for Ross Copperman. The acoustic arrangement on this track from the Ticket To L.A. album leaves it wide open for that wonderful, soulful voice, and Young takes full advantage. 

Dalton Domino – Daddy’s Mud

From his upcoming 3rd album Songs From The Exile, a set of songs written during what Domino refers to as “my own personal rock bottom” where he was facing up to a number of hard things in his life. Daddy’s Mud speaks of the way we can be more like our parents than we might want to be. “I know how to hold a grudge, How to run before it gets tough, I guess that’s Daddy’s mud.” A straighter production than on previous releases using a simpler band setup, a harder guitar part and Dalton’s voice a little more forward in the mix emphasising the personal nature of the song .


Here’s our New Release Round-up 2019 playlist – enjoy!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *