Top New Country Music Releases – 15/05/2020

Here are some of the top new releases for the week of 15/05/2020.

All of this week’s new tracks are also on our New Release Round-up 2020 playlist on Spotify, along with every other song we’ve included in this feature during the year so far. If you’re a Spotify user, give it a follow so you can keep up to date!



Mo Pitney – Mattress On The Floor

In the week when Mo Pitney announced the release details of his album Ain’t Lookin Back, here’s a tender, sweet track from the upcoming collection. It’s all about starting out with nothing, and nothing being enough if you’re sharing it with the right person. Lovely stuff, and Mo continues to tease the album nicely.

Brothers Osborne – All Night

We’re thinking All Night is the herald for a third album from the Brothers, which is good news indeed. This song, though… What do you think of it? Because we really can’t make up our minds about it! It’s a short, punchy party song, but we think it’s some way from what you’d probably expect from them. Be interesting to see what else they turn up for us this year.

Travis Denning – Sittin’ By A Fire

Travis’s EP Beer’s Better Cold is out today (May 15th 2020) and, as you might guess, there’s a lot of drinking songs there! Sittin’ By A Fire shows there’s more to Travis than just beer, it’s a love ballad that has him letting his guard down just a little to show his tender side and it’s a neat way to close off the EP.

Kip Moore – Red White Blue Jean American Dream

Kip’s new album Wild World is almost upon us, and Red White Blue Jean American Dream is the latest track to be released from it. We’re sharing 2 version of the song. We think the sparse, ambient recording of the acoustic version from Kip’s In The Wild sessions gives more room for the dream and travel narrative than the much harder, heavier studio version, but each will have their own favourite. Which one is yours?

John Baumann – The Country Doesn’t Sound The Same

John Baumann recently announced his third album Country Shade, set for release on June 5th. This, the first track to drop from the album, is something of a three card trick – part comment on mainstream country music, part observation of the plight of rural America, part lament for the state of the nation. 

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – St Peter’s Autograph

Isbell’s album Reunions is released today (May 15th 2020) and it’s chock full of the high-bar songwriting we’ve come to expect. We could have picked any song, but we’ve picked this one. Written to console and assure Isbell’s wife Amanda Shire’s following the death last year of close friend and fellow musician Neal Casal, it’s an extraordinary piece of songwriting that sheds all artifice and wears its heart on its sleeve while avoiding saccharine sentimentality.

Sara Evans – All We Ever Do Is Say Goodbye

Of all the tracks on Sara Evan’s new covers album Copy That, released today (May 15th 2020), this is definitely one that had us waiting with a certain amount of curiosity. The album itself is an eclectic mix of songs and styles covering over 60 years of popular music and it’s fair to say that some ideas work better than others, as is often the case with such a project. This cover of the John Mayer classic is one of the best cuts on the album, keeping the arrangement reasonably slim and pairing it with a suitably tremulous, fragile vocal.

Clay Hollis – Here I Go Again

Texan Clay Hollis’ take on that familiar breakup scenario of making your way around town in the aftermath. “So here I go again | Driving down her street | Hoping she don’t see me | And I don’t see her with him”. Similar territory to That Ain’t My Truck, but a slower tempo adds layers to the heartbreak.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *