Sturgill Simpson to Release Concept Album ‘The Ballad of Dood and Juanita’ on August 20th

Sturgill Simpson announces new album ‘The Ballad of Dood and Juanita’ for 20th August release

Sturgill Simpson - The Ballad of Dood and Juanita

Sturgill Simpson will be releasing a new concept album, The Ballad of Dood and Juanita, digitally and on CD on August 20th, vinyl release will be December 3rd.  This is the Grammy-winning singer/songwriter’s third album in twelve months and his most ambitious project to date. 

“I just wanted to write a story—not a collection of songs that tell a story, but an actual story, front to back,” says Simpson. He describes the concept album as a “rollercoaster ride through all the styles of traditional country and bluegrass and mountain music that I love, including gospel and a cappella.”  Written and recorded in less than a week, the new album features the same ace musicians who played on last year’s Cuttin’ Grass albums and is what Simpson calls “a simple tale of either redemption or revenge.”

Track listing:
1.  Prologue 
2.  Ol’ Dood (part I)
3.  One In the Saddle, One On the Ground 
4.  Shamrock 
5.  Played Out 
6.  Sam 
7.  Juanita (featuring Willie Nelson) 
8.  Go In Peace 
9.  Epilogue 
10.Ol’ Dood (part II)

Keep your eyes on Six Shooter Country for more news on the release!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *